THE LIMITED Ratings and Reviews
Camis(73)
Denim(1,205)
Dresses(3,046)
Final Sale(501)
Handbags(280)
Jackets(1,148)
Jewelry(642)
Pants(2,289)
Shorts(112)
Skirts(1,721)
Sweaters(2,594)
Tops(5,326)
Shop Now At THE LIMITED
Shop Skirts or
Show Now at THE LIMITED:
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LTD High-Waist Pencil Skirt

LTD High-Waist Pencil Skirt

High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 19
19 out of 21(90%)customers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Review 1 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted byMarieAntoinette
Location:Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Stylish

Date:May 22, 2013
Beautiful classic pencil skirt that fits well and is lightweight for the summer months. Coordinated with a chic white and black top made the look sophisticated and stylish.
Fit 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted byJA2323
Location:Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Great Fit, no stretch

Date:May 22, 2013
I would consider this to be a vintage honey yellow. The fit is great! It is high waist, so do go up a size, as there is no stretch to the material. Wonderful texture to the fabric. Plan on wearing until it falls apart! :)
Fit 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted byvoguerugger
Location:Arlington, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Gorgeous color, nice fabric, awful fit

Date:May 22, 2013
I love The Limited skirts. I was excited to find a yellow/mustard skirt in their collection. After reading the reviews, I ordered an 8 and a 10 to see which would fit better. Much to my disappointment, neither fit at all. The 10 was still much too tight in the hips and huge in the waist. I would have had to order a 12 and gotten the skirt tailored (quite a bit) in order for it to fit. The Limited skirts usually fit (although not wonderfully) on my very curvy frame. This one did not fit the bill and went back. If your hips and waist are more than 8-9 inches different, do not bother with this skirt - it will not fit. If you have narrow hips, this skirt will likely fit you beautifully.
For reference, my waist is 27" and my hips are 40.5".
Fit 
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted byCndyGrlFashionista
Location:Jackson, MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Love the Color!

Date:May 17, 2013
I love, love, love this skirt! The color is perfect against my mahogany skin tone and the fit is GREAT!
Fit 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted byDivattude
Location:Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Beautiful

Date:May 16, 2013
It is beautiful. I love this skirt. The fit is perfect
Fit 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted bycestenes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Great fit, color not as shown

Date:May 9, 2013
This skirt fits fabulously and is true to size, I'm 5'8" 139lbs and took a size 6. Only issue I had was the color was paler than the picture, thinking it would be more bold, it is more of a soft yellow.
Fit 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted byStarbuck88
Location:Salt Lake City, utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Super cute and very Mad Men

Date:May 5, 2013
I am a red head, so I love yellow. I had some minor issues with this skirt, but they were non fatal and I still like it.
Issue one: size is a bit large. I am normally a 0, and this one was a bit big. Solution was to just put a slim belt around the waist. This isn't really the skirt's fault, though, it is probably my fault for being so freaking small.
Issue two: skirt claims to be machine washable and dry able. Do not do this. It will shrink, thus exposing the lining. Solution was to take a trip to m y trailer, who fixed the issue in about ten minutes. Had I drycleaned the skirt, I don't think this would have been a problem.
But, aside from all that, this skirt, paired with the yellow moto jacket and a pair of camel heels, looked fantastic at work, ,so recommend.
Fit 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted byerinbear20
Location:Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Date:May 4, 2013
I was so excited about this skirt when I saw it. I wasn't so excited when it arrived. The color is bright yellow, gorgeous! But even when buying a size up, it is still very tight. I wear a Limited size 8 and got a 10 and probably needed a 12. The lining sticks out past the skirt hem, so it looks less polished once it's being worn. And the skirt tends to get horizontal wrinkles across the front when sitting for a long time, like at my desk job. The skirt is pretty and I'm keeping it, but it's not nearly as nice as the orange pencil skirt with orange dot pattern I bought at the Limited last fall.
Fit 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted byEllieG
Location:Rockville, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Very cute and flattering

Date:May 3, 2013
I love this skirt. I bought it to match some funky gray wedge pumps I have with yellow accents. They've been hard to match since the "in" yellow hue in stores is a neon-green shade. Yuck.
This skirt is more on the mustard side, but still a fun, bright color. The fabric is a nice medium-weight cotton but requires some ironing after it goes through the wash.
Great, slim shape, very classic.
Fit 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted byk5289
Location:California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Runs Small and Stiff Material

Date:April 13, 2013
I agree with other reviewers that this skirt runs small. I tried on my normal size and the zipper was about 2 inches from even closing. The material also seemed pretty stiff, which I think is uncomfortable if you sit at a desk all day. Because of this, I decided to just pass on this skirt rather than trying a size up.
Fit 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted bydmh0204
Location:Atlanta, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Statement skirt

Date:March 25, 2013
I agree with the other comments that the skirt is a mustard, not a sunny yellow. But I prefer it that way. I love this skirt, and I can see myself wearing it all summer and into the fall with some boots. The texture is great, and it fits great, like most Limited pencil skirts. It may fit a touch snug, so if you are between sizes, order up. But I do not find that it runs terribly small.
Fit 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted bymorganaus
Location:Cleveland, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Mustard-Colored, Textured, Runs Very Small

Date:March 19, 2013
I always size up for a high-waisted skirt, and this one fits very snugly in a higher size. I kept it, but going two sizes up would have been appropriate - it really is that tight.
However, I've been losing weight, so hopefully it'll be a bit more loose in the coming months, because it really is very pretty for summer. Agree that the color is mustard/goldenrod, not sunny yellow, and the texture makes it interesting - nice for hiding any lines or bumps!
I'm 5'9" and this skirt is appropriate for work - not sure I would choose it for any other time since it comes across as conservative due to the coloring.
Fit 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted bySDM83
Location:Dallas, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Nice Addition

Date:March 14, 2013
Two things do stand out, the size and color. I had to get a size 6, which I can normally settle for a 2. Also the color is more of a mustard and not a sunny yellow like it appears on the website. Overall I like the skirt and the color makes it versatile to pair with various colors of shoes and tops.
Fit 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted byCasey512
Location:Austin, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Cute but wrinkles easily

Date:March 14, 2013
I really like the textured fabrics The Limited has introduced this spring, but this is 100% cotton, so it wrinkles very easily. While it's true that the skirt is not made of a stretchy material, it does stretch out as you wear it (again, it's cotton), so I would not advise sizing up. I feel it is true to size. I normally wear a 4 or 6 in The Limited skirts, and I bought an 8, based on the reviews. After wearing it only a few hours, it was too loose on me. I also do not think the color is totally misrepresented. It is not a dark yellow. I actually think it's lighter than shown in the small photo above. If you zoom in, that's a pretty good indicator of the color.
Fit 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted bylaxlauren1
Location:Chicago, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Don't be fooled by color

Date:March 9, 2013
This skirt is great quality and fit as most things are but I'm really getting tired of ordering things and the color being completely different in person. I was super excited for a sunny yellow skirt to add to my closet but in reality it's a dark mustard color which I really don't like. Once again returning an item that looks totally different in person.
Fit 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted bySunshyne51
Location:Macon, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Great Skirt!

Date:March 7, 2013
Well made, gorgeous skirt, very, very pleased. But hope you read reviews before you purchase because the skirt runs small. Purchased a size 4, which usually fits slightly loose. This skirt fits quite snug on me. Although I am small, I have a little pop to my booty, so size 2's are usually uncomfortably tight. I will be keeping this snug fitting skirt, very sexy looking and nice length too!
Fit 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted bySavannahGirl
Location:Savannah, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Not perfect, but good

Date:March 5, 2013
The color of the skirt in real life is a bit darker than shown here. It does not match up with the yellow ponte knit blazer. The color is more golden...(think college team colors). It's still a nice color though. I'm a bit disappointed in the material, as it looks a bit dated for lack of a better description. As the other reviewers mentioned, it does run a tad small. If you are in between sizes, go with the larger of the two. I did not need to size up like other reviewers did, but I can tell what they are talking about. Maybe it's because there is NO stretch in this one. Positive notes are the length is as shown here and it's lined to help fight off those panty lines. It will work well in spring and summer.
Fit 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
High Waist Zebra Print Pencil Skirt
4.7 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted byNeezy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Runs small

Date:March 5, 2013
Great color and fit but runs small. My usual size 6 was too tight but the size 8 fit fine.
Fit 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Posted byshopaholic77
Location:indianapolis
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 

Runs small

Date:March 2, 2013
GREAT yellow skirt if it fit like the normal sizing 16s. I love the color and texture of this skirt but i have to return it do to the sizing. If you are looking for a yellow skirt this is a great skirt to purchase as the quality is outstanding. This skirt doesnt have any stretch in it either.
Fit 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 stars)
Quality 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for High-Waist Pencil Skirt
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 stars)
Overall Rating 
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Fit 
3.5 out of 5
( 3.5 out of 5 stars)
Fit 
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
( 3.5 out of 5 stars)
Quality